ASCD California

Outstanding Instructional Leader Award

  • Home
  • About
  • Outstanding Instructional Leader Award

California ASCD proudly announces the 2018 CASCD OIL Award Winner

Every year CASCD selects an Outstanding Instructional Leader (OIL) who has significantly impacted/influenced public education in California. Individuals, who influence, advocate for and support professional growth and instructional leadership to ensure success for each learner are nominated by their CASCD peers. The award is given in recognition of Helen Heffernan who provided California with outstanding service, keen insight, vision and leadership. This year CASCD is pleased to recognize two outstanding California instructional leaders who have made significant contributions to the education of California's K-12 students. This year's winner is:

Charlene Stringham

California ASCD is proud to announce Charlene Stringham, Assistant Superintendent of Instructional Services for Tulare County Office of Education as the winner of the 2018 Outstanding Instructional Leader Award.

Charlene Stringham supports educators in Tulare County in their work with students to meet the challenges of the 21st century. As a leader in Tulare County, she is a strong advocate for all students and has garnered partnerships with the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and Stanford University to improve elementary math instruction. In addition to her work in instructional services for Tulare County, she has presented on topics related to policy analysis, curriculum and instruction, and instructional leadership.

The Outstanding Instructional Leader Award is given annually to California educators who have significantly impacted/influenced public education in California either through influence, advocacy, leadership, or teaching. The award is given in recognition of Helen Hefferman who provided California with outstanding service, keen insight, vision and leadership in curriculum and instruction.

Mrs. Stringham will be publicly recognized at a board meeting this spring.

For submitting a nomination for 2019 please click the following for the form and instructions Nominate Outstanding Instructional Leader.

2017 Winner

Dr. Linda Kaminski

As superintendent of Azusa Unified School District, Dr. Linda Kaminski has taken vision, courage, leadership, and intent and blended them into a coherent system to bring results to Azusa. Successful examples of her work include supporting professional learning communities, positive behavioral interventions and supports, assessments built to mirror expectations of state standards, investment in leadership, and successfully passing a bond to modernize facilities.

Dr. Kaminski received her Bachelor Degree from Santa Clara University, Master of Science from Pepperdine University, and Master of Education and Doctor of Education from Harvard University.

2016 Winners

Dr. Mike Hendricks is being recognized for his 36 years of service to the children of our state. In his current role as the head of Charter Oak Unified School District, he is known for his vision and focus on transforming curriculum and instruction. He has also made an impact statewide through his active service in ACSA and his passion for teaching future educators at the university level. Dr. Hendricks has served in many roles with CASCD and is currently chair of the Educator Advocate Committee.

Dr. Kevin Silberberg, Superintendent of Panama Buena-Vista School District, is being recognized for his statewide leadership in improving education through innovative and effective use of technology. He was an original member of the TICAL Leadership Cadre and has an extensive resume of presentations and leadership roles which have built the capacity of educators across the state in improving 21st century learning for all students. 

Past Winners

1999-2000                 Bob and Sue Garmston
2002-2003 Dr. Glen W. Thomas
Dr. Joann Merrick
2003-2004 Michele Garside
2005-2006 Tony L. Spears
Jeanie Cash 
2008 Alice Petrossian
Rob Hudson
2011 Sue Stickel
2012 George Manthey
2013 Karen Staph Walters
Vicki Barber
2014 Sherry Skelly Griffith
Rowland Baker
2015 Ellen Moir

Are you a member of California ASCD?

CASCD members are active and involved in the changing face of education.  Join CASCD and become empowered with innovative solutions to support the success of all learners.   Sign up to become a member or renew your membership today!

Learn More

ASCD CaliforniaPhone: (530) 520-9412
Mailing: PO Box 1841
Oroville, CA 95965

The California Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (CASCD) is a diverse community of educators throughout California committed to promoting exemplary practices that ensure all learners reach their fullest potential.


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software